WEST MICHIGAN
UMPIRES ASSOCIATION

 CASE PLAYS


TAG OR NOT?

PLAY

F3 dives and traps a line drive. As he attempts to get up, he slips. He then crawls toward the bag, reaches out and touches it a split-second before B1 arrives. However, he has the ball in his opposite hand.

RULING

B1 is out; that is a legal tag. Bases may be tagged with the bare hand provided the fielder has secure possession of the ball in the glove. Runners must be tagged with the ball in the hand or glove (NFHS 2-24-4).






Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software